Channeling Martha

Martha Stewart has been a huge influence on the crafting world for years and has inspired many people to become do-it-yourselfers and explore their own creativity.  However, she is also responsible for many women feeling completely inadequate because they do not make their own organic hair products, have a compost pile in their backyard, and make every meal from scratch with spices from their own herb garden. 

I did my best to be Martha-esque this week, and I was exhausted by Thursday.  In three nights, I sewed my own dress without a pattern, made a handmade baby shower gift, wrapped baby shower gifts, did 3 loads of laundry, printed party invitations, pre-cleaned my house before the cleaning person came (Martha would never have a cleaning person, I’m sure), and made several items to sell at the craft festival.  I had to stay up late Wednesday night to finish everything, and I was falling asleep at my desk at work on Thursday.  I don’t think I will ever be one of those people who “have it all together,” because I just don’t think there are enough hours in the day.  And some of those hours are reserved for happy hours!

Thursday night, I was going a baby shower for two good friends of mine having their first child.  The shower was to be held in a suite at the Mississippi State vs. Memphis football game.  Mississippi State being my alma mater, I wanted to find a cute maroon dress to wear to the event.  It seems that maroon is not the most popular color in women’s fashion, so I decided to make one myself.  I used another tube dress of mine that I really like as a template.  I was pretty proud of how this turned out considering my limited sewing skills!  It was supposed to have a zipper, but I decided that I just did not have to time to figure that out.

For one of my baby shower gifts, I made a picture frame for the soon to arrive baby boy.

The baby shower/football game was a blast, and the Bulldogs won 59-14!

2 thoughts on “Channeling Martha

Leave a Reply

