Recycling Unwanted Clothes

It seems that I give half a closet full of clothes to Goodwill every year.  How does this happen?  I’m not really even a big clothes shopper.  But I guess several poor shopping choices and style changes add up over time.  I bought this dress last summer in Key West, thinking it seemed very summery and beachy and I would enjoy it for years to come.  I regretted wearing it even that first night, because it turned out that it looked like a big flowered-y potato sack on me.  Never wore it again.  In the past month, I have been totally inspired by http://www.newdressaday.com/.  If you are into sewing even a little bit or cringe when you have to give away old clothes, please please visit her site.  It makes you believe that anything is possible in the sewing world.

Note:  I apologize a million times for the poor photo quality.  As I mentioned in a previous post, my nice camera is being repaired, so I am stuck with the “take a picture with the iPhone into the mirror” option.

Before

After

2 thoughts on “Recycling Unwanted Clothes

  1. I am no seamstress either! I need some major practice. This one was super easy because the material was stretchy so I didn’t need a zipper or elastic or anything. It was only 4 straight lines – 2 side seams and 2 heams. Now I have a pile of clothes with visions of reconstructing them!

Leave a Reply

